Call for submissions for OA Hall of Fame 2022 Induction

Selection Committee Background

The 2013 Conference endorsed an OA Hall of Fame being created in 2014 comprising Athlete Members and General Members.

The 2014 OA AGM elected a selection committee comprising Mike Dowling - chair (OTAS), Tony Simpkins (OAWA), Ann Scown (OACT), Reid Moran (QLD), Kathy Liley (VICTORIA).

For 2019, the selection committee comprised of Mike Dowling (OT) – chair, Tony Simpkins (OAWA), Ann Scown (OACT), Reid Moran (OQ) and Jenny Bourne (OV).

Inductees

2016

At the 2016 OA Dinner the following were the successful initial inductees:

Athlete Membership

Grant Bluett (NSW and ACT)
Jenny Bourne (ACT and Victoria)

General Membership

Tom Andrews (Victoria)
David Hogg (ACT)
Alex Tarr (Victoria)
Barry McCrae (Victoria)

2017

Because of the Oceania Championships in New Zealand, there was no OA dinner and no induction.

2018

The second induction was due to take place at the OA dinner during the Easter 3 Days in Tasmania, but due to the dinner being cancelled, the inductees were announced at the event.

The following were the successful 2018 inductees:

Athlete Membership

Hermann Wehner (OACT)

General Membership

Eric Andrews (OQ) – (posthumous)
John Brammall (OT) – (posthumous)
Bob Mouatt OAM (OACT)

2019

In 2019 a third induction did not take place, the selected 2019 nominees were approved by the OA Board for approval in 2020, and inducted in 2020 in addition to the inductees for 2020.

2020

Athlete Membership

Geoff Lawford (OV) (from 2019) Hanny Allston (Tas)

General Membership

Hugh Cameron (ONSW/OV) (from 2019) Peta Whitford (OV) (from 2019)

Kathy Liley (OV) Ron Pallas (ONSW)

2021

The fourth induction took place at the end of the 2021 Australian 3-Days.

Athlete Membership

Christine Marshall (nee Watson) (OT) Warren Key (OV)

General Membership

Dave Lotty (ONSW)
Jim Russell (OV)

2022

The selection committee is now inviting state associations to submit nominations for the 2022 intake to the Hall of Fame in the two categories of membership: Athlete Member and General Member.

Any persons previously nominated for induction after 2019 who were not successful will be considered by the selection committee for the 2022 induction. Previous unsuccessful nominations prior to that date will require a fresh nomination. The committee is calling for additional new nominations.

Criteria

Criteria for athlete membership include:

- a. Excellence of achievement at the highest international level in senior and/or Masters competition, namely medal winning performances in the World Orienteering Championships, and gold medal winning performances in World Games and World Masters Orienteering Championships, in foot and/or mountain bike orienteering;
- b. The degree of difficulty for the nominee to attain the highest level of achievement will be considered by the selection committee;
- c. Nominees must have retired from senior international competition for at least 5 years after WOC or MTBWOC participation but may still be participating at Masters level;
- d. Nominees must be Australian citizens and have the support of their peers as worthy recipients of Hall of Fame status;
- e. Any person or organisation may make nominations through their state association for consideration by the Selection Committee;

Criteria for general membership include:

- a. Demonstrated outstanding high-level achievement from personal effort or initiative over many years at the international or national level to the development of orienteering in one or more of the fields of:
- administration
- event management
- mapping
- coaching

- b. Mere long-term service without demonstrating outstanding high-level achievement in clause (a) is not sufficient justification for selection.
- c. The Selection Committee will decide on the appropriate number of general members to be inducted in the inaugural induction; thereafter a maximum of two general members per year may be inducted.
- d. Nominees must be Australian citizens and have the support of their peers as worthy recipients of Hall of Fame status;
- e. Any person or organisation may make nominations through their state association for consideration by the Selection Committee.

The Selection Committee will be the arbiter in respect to the selection or otherwise of any nominee, subject to final approval by the OA Board.

Deadline for submissions

Submissions should be lodged with David Hogg, Awards and Trophies Manager, Orienteering Australia at dhogg@homemail.com.au with a copy to Executive Officer, Orienteering Australia at eo@orienteering.asn.au by Monday 28 February 2022.